About Us

The History of the Bronx District Branch

Prior to WWII, Joshua H. Leiner, MD, Dean of the neuropsychiatrists in the Borough of the Bronx, toyed with the idea of forming a society of neurology and psychiatry in the Bronx, which he frequently discussed with Jacob H. Friedman, MD. After WWII, Drs. Leiner and Friedman obtained a listing of specialists in neurology and psychiatry from the Bronx County Medical Society and, along with legal talent, formulated a constitution and the Bronx Society of Neurology and Psychiatry was born in 1946. With the help of Miss Evelyn Reedy, attorney and Executive Director of the Bronx County Medical Society, the Bronx Society of Neurology and Psychiatry was incorporated on January 22, 1948. In May 1950, the Society officially became an affiliate Society of the American Psychiatric Association and in 1953 became an APA district branch, now known as the Bronx District Branch of the American Psychiatric Association.

Executive Council 2016-2018

President: Haseen Sharma-Cooper, M.D.
President-Elect: Howard Forman, M.D.
Secretary/Treasurer: Andrei Nagorny, M.D.
APA Rep: Robert Neal, M.D.
Legislative Rep: Bruce Schwartz, M.D.
Councilor: Andrea Weiss, M.D.
Councilor: Fred Matzner, M.D.
RFM Rep: Margarita Kats, M.D.
Past President: Maryann Popiel, M.D.

Let Us Help You Find a Psychiatrist.

Connect With Us

Bronx District Branch
400 Garden City Plaza, Suite 202
Garden City, New York 11530